36-Period Required Course
This is the 36-period course that is required by the Virginia DMV that new drivers must complete to earn their license.
Course Price: $200.00
Classes held throughout the year
Don’t want to wait for your turn to complete a driver’s education course at your high school?
2020 Driving School offers an approved driver’s ed course on a rolling schedule, making it easier and more convenient for new teen drivers to complete their required instruction.
Classes are held at varying times and multiple days a week, helping to accommodate your busy schedule.
Required for new drivers
Proof of completion of a 36-period driver’s education course is required for new drivers to earn their driver’s license in Virginia.
2020 Driving School offers not only a classroom course, but an online course as well.
Students in Planning District 8
If you reside in Planning District 8, as well as the counties of Stafford and Spotsylvania, you’re required to complete a 90-minute parent/teen class. Planning District 8 includes the following municipalities:
Get a jumpstart on behind the wheel lessons
While enrolled in our driver’s education course, students can begin their 14-periods of behind the wheel instruction. As long as the behind the wheel is completed with us, you do not have to wait until the you’ve finished driver’s ed.
Classes taught by experienced instructors
2020 Driving School provides driver’s education courses taught by professionals, with decades of education or law enforcement experience. Students receive their lessons in a fun, upbeat environment that encourages participation and involvement. We do everything we can to ensure the subject matter is retained by students, preparing them for the challenges of driving.
Language support available
English not your first language? No problem! We can assist students with help reviewing the material in multiple languages:
Simply let our staff know upon enrollment, and we’ll review with you the accommodations we can make to provide assistance.
We're here to help.
Need assistance with understanding the process for driver’s ed or what all is required to earn your Virginia driver’s license? Get in touch with us, we’d be glad to help.
The Driver's Ed course explained
An approved driver’s education course is required for new drivers in order to receive their driver’s license.
Driver’s education programs are available statewide to students, adults and out-of-school youths. Public and private school programs are approved by the Virginia Department of Education, and 2020 Driving School follows the same course content and is licensed by the DMV to conduct this course.
Currently, this course is offered at our Fredericksburg headquarters, located at 1940 William St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401.
The course is held on a rolling schedule throughout the year, with open enrollments at any time.
Prospective students are encouraged to contact us directly for additional scheduling information and availability.
The driver’s education program must present 36 classroom periods, including components about the following:
Students will receive a driver education completion certificate when they successfully complete the driver’s ed program. The driver education certificate of completion is considered part of the driver’s license application. 2020 Driving School will send a copy of your certificate to the DMV for issuance of a permanent driver’s license.
Earn a $50 gift card
Complete your instruction with us, refer five of your friends for lessons, and receive a $50.00 gift card. It’s that simple!
Save on your instruction
Receive huge savings on your needed courses with one of our new driver packages.
Rather take your driver's ed course online?
We also offer an online driver’s education course that you can complete from practically anywhere, at any time.
Where to find us
Our headquarters is located at 1940 William St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401.
Give them the gift of safe driving
In need of a great gift for a someone special? Look no further.
2020 Driving School offers gift vouchers for a range of special occasions, from birthdays to holidays. Set the dollar amount of your gift to any value you wish, starting at $25.00. Plus, the voucher never expires! So you can gift today and the new driver can use it when they’re ready.
IMPORTANT NOTE regarding driver’s education for students in Planning District 8:
The online classroom component of driver’s education must be completed through a DMV-licensed online driver training school prior to completing the 90-minute parent/teen component. Only students outside of Planning District 8 are allowed by law to complete the 90-minute component online.
Students that live in the County of Stafford are also required to complete the 90-minute parent/teen component.