Online Virginia Driver's Education Course
Complete the 36-Period Course Online
New teen drivers must complete a driver’s education course in order to earn their driver’s license. 2020 Driving School offers an online alternative to the 36-period classroom course.
Course Price: $150.00
Components about alcohol safety, handicapped parking, fuel efficient driving practices, motorcycle awareness and organ and tissue donation awareness as required by law.
You must be at least 15 years and 6 months old to take the online driver education course. All individuals who elect to take the classroom component of the driver’s education course online must take the online course through a DMV licensed driver training school. Home-schooled students are exempt from this requirement.
In order to benefit from the course, you must be able to work independently and be comfortable using a computer.
Testing info for online driver's ed
On the day of testing, you must bring with you the following to the test site:
Please note: We will provide a computer for testing. You will not be allowed to take the final examination on your own device.
Online driver's ed provided by National Driver Training Institute
For questions regarding this affiliate course provider or for particular information related to this course, call National Driver Training Institute at (800) 942-2050.
Steps for course completion
2020 Driving School will register each enrolled student through our exclusive portal to initiate the process.
Students initiate the process by selecting the “Submit” button found underneath the initial enrollment form, which will direct them to the online payment screen. Once payment is submitted, a representative from 2020 Driving School will provide the student with their unique registration information.
Once registered, the student will receive a user name, password and link to the course website.
With these credentials, the student logs in and begins the approved online course.
The student will receive a directive to return to 2020 Driving School to take the final exam. The student is given written verifcation of completion of the theory portion of driver eductation. This document verifies to 2020 Driving School that the student has completed this portion of the course and is ready to take the final exam.
A licensed instructor from 2020 Driving School will log in and open the testing site for each student who presents the written verification of completion document, using a supplied authorization code.
The student will then take the final examination online in the presence of the licensed instructor.
The course grades the test and reveals the results. If the student passes the course, the instructor will receive the certificate of completion for that student and can continue with the behind the wheel portion of the course or issue the certificate to the student when there is a request to transfer.
If the student fails the final examination, the student will be allowed to review any section of the completed course to prepare to take the examination again.
We're here to help.
Need assistance with understanding the process for driver’s ed or what all is required to earn your Virginia driver’s license? Get in touch with us, we’d be glad to help.
Looking for classroom driver's ed?
In addition to this online option, 2020 Driving School also offers a 36-period classroom driver’s education course.
This course is held on a rolling schedule throughout the year, helping to make it more convenient for students to complete the course without having to wait for it to be offered at their high school.
Complete the form below to get started with online driver's education
If you are under the age of 18, please complete the fields listed as “parent.” Once the form is submitted, you’ll be taken to the payment page for our online driver’s education course. Once your enrollment is processed, an representative from 2020 Driving School will reach out to you to assign your unique registration information.
IMPORTANT NOTE regarding driver’s education for students in Planning District 8:
The online classroom component of driver’s education must be completed through a DMV-licensed online driver training school prior to completing the 90-minute parent/teen component. Only students outside of Planning District 8 are allowed by law to complete the 90-minute component online.
Students that live in the County of Stafford are also required to complete the 90-minute parent/teen component.