Online 8-Hour Virginia
Driver's Manual Course

Complete Your Failed Three Times / Re-Examination Class Online

Home   //   Services   //   Online  /   Online Failed Three Times Re-Examination

Let Us Help You Pass Your Test

Failed the learner’s permit test or knowledge test at the DMV three times?

You are required to complete an 8-hour Virginia Driver’s Manual / Re-Examination class before you’re able to retake your test again.  Our online three times failure / re-examination class covers the Virginia driver’s manual in its entirety, helping prepare you with the knowledge needed to pass the test and be a safe and courteous driver. 

Course Price:  $185.00

About this course

Virginia learner’s permit or driver’s license applicants who fail the knowledge exam three times must successfully complete the applicable knowledge component of a driver’s education course, or an 8-hour Virginia driver’s manual/re-examination course before they can take the examination a fourth time.

This online driver’s manual course satisfies this requirement.

2020 Driving School provides a thorough online course to review the details of the Virginia driver’s manual, helping students prepare for the retaking of the DMV knowledge exam.  

online failed 3 times class
course listing

What's Covered In This Course?

This course covers the contents of the Virginia driver’s manual, to include:

  • Elements of testing;
  • Traffic signals, signs, and pavement markings
  • Safe driving tips and techniques;
  • Seat belts, air bags, and child safety seats;
  • Penalties;
  • License types;
  • and other important information.

With this course, students gain the knowledge of Virginia’s roads to safely operate a motor vehicle.

Important Information About This Course

The price of this course is $185.00.

In order to benefit from the course, you must be able to work independently and be comfortable with using a computer.

The online driver’s manual course must be completed through a DMV-licensed driver training school.

The online driver’s manual is an eight-hour course based on the Virginia Driver’s Manual and is designed to better prepare individuals for the general knowledge test. The student must complete in its entirety prior to the issuance of a certificate of completion.

If you complete the required classroom portion of driver’s education (consisting of 36 fifty-minute classroom sessions) after you fail three times, you may present the certificate of completion such as a DEC-1, (from the public or private school) or DTS 36 (from a DMV-licensed driver training school) to satisfy the three-times failure.

If you complete the classroom component of driver education before failing the knowledge test three times, you may take the eight-hour driver’s manual course online or in person to satisfy the three times failure. You must provide your certificate of completion such as a DEC-1 (from the public or private school) or DTS 36 (from a DMV-licensed driver training school) to the email address of the school that will be providing the Driver’s Manual Course before you enroll in the Driver’s Manual Course.

The certificate of completion must be printed on 8 1/2 by 11 plain white bonded paper. The DMV will not accept certificates printed on color or special designed paper or paper with any form of advertisement on the front or back of the certificate. DMV will not accept any certificates that have been altered in any way.

DMV is committed to promoting transportation safety through the certification of quality driver training programs. If you have any comments or concerns about this course, call the DMV toll-free number: 1-877-855-5790.

Reasons for Having to Attend a Driver's Manual Course

Failing the knowledge exam

If you have failed the knowledge test three times and are age 17 or over, you must either retake the classroom component of driver’s education (consisting of 36 50-minute periods), or complete an 8-hour driver’s manual course (this class).

The driver’s manual course is an 8-hour course based on the Virginia driver’s manual and is designed to better prepare individuals for the knowledge test.  The completion date of the driver’s manual course must be after the date of your third knowledge test failure.  When you have successfully completed either the classroom component of driver’s ed or the driver’s manual course and have provided DMV with your certificate of completion, you can retake the knowledge exam.

The two-part knowledge exam is taken on a computer at a DMV customer service center or in classrooms at participating high schools and is available in several languages.  The exam tests your knowledge of traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.

Exam questions are taken from information in the Virginia driver’s manual.  Familiarize yourself with all the information in the Virginia driver’s manual to prepare for the knowledge exam.

About the exam

All ten traffic sign questions in Part One of the knowledge exam must be answered correctly before you can take the general knowledge exam in Part Two.  You must score at least 80% on these questions to pass Part Two.

If you do not obtain a license/permit within six months of completing a knowledge exam, you will be required to retest. 

Duration of time before having to retest

If you do not obtain a license/permit within six months of completing a knowledge exam, you will be required to retest.

Questions About This Online Course?

Knowing the process and what is required can be challenging.  Reach out to us and our experts will be glad to answer any questions you may have.

What to Know About Retaking the DMV Knowledge Exam

If you fail the DMV knowledge test:

  • If you are under age 18, by law you must wait a full 15-days before you can retake the exam.
  • If you are age 18 or older, you must pay a $2.00 re-examination fee if you retake the exam within 15 days.

Regardless of age, if you fail the two-part knowledge exam three times at a DMV customer service center, you must complete the classroom portion of a Virginia approved Driver Training School program and present the Driver Education Certificate at a customer service center.  To be eligible for re-examination, the course completion date must be after the date of the third exam failure. This online course satisfies the requirement.

While taking the knowledge exam at the DMV, it is unlawful to:

  • Receive assistance or assist anyone while taking the knowledge exam;
  • Attempt to secure or provide answers to any parts of an exam;
  • Have unauthorized possession of an exam or exam answers;
  • and use a cell phone while taking the exam.

Online Failed 3 Times / Re-Examination Course Enrollment and Completion Policy

By enrolling in this course, students are expected to abide by the following at all times.

Background:

Personally identifiable information is required to enroll in this course and to initiate the final exam. Students will be required to submit a copy of their state-issued identification prior to the commencement of the course and final exam. This personally identifiable information is captured electronically and will be used to verify the identification of the enrolled student.

Prohibited Conduct:

Students enrolled in this course are prohibited from the following:

  • Falsely identifying themselves as someone else.
  • Sharing login information with others.
  • Copying, forwarding, or otherwise reproducing course content, quiz and/or exam materials.
  • Providing access to others for the purpose of course, quiz, and/or exam completion.

Consequences for Prohibited Conduct:

Students found to be in violation of the above will immediately be disqualified from the completion of the course, and will forfeit any and all fees paid for same. Additionally, where appropriate, violators will be reported to the respective authorities, to include the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. 

Additional Assistance:

Should you have any questions concerning this policy, please do not hesitate to contact our headquarters at 540-841-6327.

Failed the DMV Road Skills Test Three Times?

In need of in-car re-examination lessons?

2020 Driving School offers an in-car re-examination program for those that failed their road skills test at the DMV three times, and are required to complete the 7-periods of behind the wheel driving lessons before restesting.

Rather Take the Driver's Manual Course In-Person?

2020 Driving School offers failed 3 times / re-examination in-person classes weekly, at our Fredericksburg and Stafford locations. Learn the knowledge and skills needed from one of our experienced instructors.

Scroll to Top