Multiple Passengers and Fatal Crashes
The chance of a fatal crash increases five-fold for teens driving with two or more teen passengers. If you were 5 times more likely to win the lottery that would be a good thing. But if you are 5 times more likely to be in the crash, that is cause for concern. The good news is parents can keep their teens safe by instituting a no passenger policy for their teen drivers.
The risk of dying in a car crash nearly doubles for teens when a male passenger is present. Drivers younger than 18 years of age may not operate a vehicle using a cell phone or any other wireless device. Starting January 1, 2021, Virginia law prohibits any driver from operating a cell phone or hand-held device while operating a motor vehicle.
If a teen driver violates Virginia’s cell phone law they will be assessed 3 demerit points and pay a fine. A second conviction will result in a court suspension of the teen’s driving privilege for 6 months. In addition, any driver under age 20 who receives even a one point demerit conviction is required to attend a driver improvement clinic and cannot take an online driver improvement course to satisfy this requirement.
A person is four times more likely to risk a crash or near-crash while driving. Text messaging while driving is even more dangerous and increases the risk of a crash or near-crash by 23.2 times!