Administrative License Suspension
Your driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of seven days if you:
- register a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or higher.
- are under age 21 and register a BAC of 0.02 or higher (zero tolerance law).
- refuse to take the field sobriety test (implied consent law).
If under 21, the rules are particularly tough. For those 16 to 18, ten unexcused absences from school may result in suspension of your driver’s license. The court might issue a Rule to Show Cause order, demanding the parent come to court and explain why their child’s license ought not be suspended. The court could suspend the driver’s license for any amount of time up to age 18. For more serious violations, the court could take sterner methods.
If your license is suspended and you drive, you could receive a fine, jail time, community service, or have time added to your initial suspension. Driving on a revoked or suspended license is one of the most serious traffic offenses one can be charged with in Virginia. The seriousness of this charge is second only to Virginia DUI/DWI with a high blood alcohol content (BAC). The maximum penalty for a first offense is a jail sentence of 6 months, a $1,000 fine, and a license suspension for the same period for which it had been previously suspended (or up to 90 days if the suspension was indefinite).