Understanding:
A Virginia Driver's Manual Course (Online)

About This Course

This 8-hour course will help you learn and better understand the contents of the Virginia Driver’s Manual, with the goal of developing you into a safer, smarter driver.

By understanding and studying the Virginia Driver’s Manual and its contents, you will be better prepared for the knowledge test, helping you to earn your driver’s license.

The information contained in this course should be used as a general guide to the motor vehicle laws, but not as a substitute for the Code of Virginia, which contains the laws that govern Virginia drivers and vehicles.

If you are learning to drive, this course will give you information you need to study for the knowledge exam. If you already have a Virginia driver’s license, review this material for new laws or rules of the road.

Driving is a privilege, not a right. Your driver’s license carries with it a great responsibility to be courteous of other drivers on the roadways and follow state and federal motoring laws.

You can find the material covered in this course contained in the Virginia Driver’s Manual, which is available online at the Virginia DMV website, or at a local DMV customer service center. DMV also offers the Virginia Driver’s Manual in an audio format for Virginians with special needs. The audio version of the manual is available at the DMV website.

Statement: In order to benefit from the course, you must be able to work independently and be comfortable with using a computer.

Statement: The online driver’s manual course must be completed through a DMV-licensed online driver training school.

Statement: The online driver’s manual course must be completed through a DMV-licensed online driver training school.

Statements:

■ Under age 18 – You must retake the classroom component of driver education (consisting of 36 50-minute classroom sessions). If you wish to take the online eight-hour Driver’s Manual course, in the classroom or online, you must provide proof of having completed the classroom component of driver education before you are allowed to enroll in the Driver’s Manual course.

■ Age 18 or older – You must either take the classroom component of driver education (consisting of 36 50-minute classroom sessions) or complete an eight-hour Driver’s Manual course in the classroom or online.

Statement: The certificate of completion must be printed on 8½” x 11 plain white bonded paper. DMV will not accept certificates printed on color or special designed paper or paper with any form of advertisement on the front or back of the certificate. DMV will not accept any certificates that have been altered in any way.

Statement: DMV is committed to promoting transportation safety through the certification of quality driver training programs. If you have any comments or concerns about this course, call our toll-free number: (1-877-885-5790).

If you require technical assistance while completing this course, contact our help desk hotline 7 days a week, from 8:00am to 7:00pm, at (833) 841-2020.

Course Content

Expand All
Scroll to Top